Skip To Main Content
  • District
  • Afton-Lakeland Elementary
  • Andersen Elementary
  • Brookview Elementary
  • Community Education
  • Lake Elmo Elementary
  • Lily Lake Elementary
  • Rutherford Elementary
  • Staff Portal
  • Stonebridge Elementary
  • Oak-Land Middle
  • Stillwater Middle
  • Stillwater Area High School
  • St. Croix Valley ALC
  • Go Ponies
  • Elementary

Learn more about the assessments given to students.

Assessments by Grade Level

  • Kindergarten: FastBridge  
  • Grade 1: FastBridge  
  • Grade 2: FastBridge  
  • Grade 3: FastBridge, CoGAT 7, MCA
  • Grade 4: FastBridge, MCA, NWEA
  • Grade 5: FastBridge, MCA, NWEA

Types of Assessments


The ACCESS and Alternate ACCESS for English Language Learners (ELLs) are the assessments administered to English learners in order to measure progress toward meeting Minnesota’s standards for English language development. Most English learners will take the ACCESS for ELLs, but English learners who received special education services and meet the participation guidelines may take the Alternate ACCESS for ELLs.

Subject tests will be delivered to K-12 students as scheduled through their English Language Learner teacher. Student tests are scheduled individually. Specific grade and domain schedules by the building will be shared as they become available.

Cognitive Abilities Test (CoGAT 7)

The CoGAT test is given to all Grade 3 students each fall as an identifier for Gifted and Talented services. More importantly, it is used to identify strengths of all students that are not always revealed with other achievement tests. The CoGat assesses students’ abilities in reasoning and problem solving using verbal, quantitative, and nonverbal (spatial) symbols.Scores are shared with families in early December and are available in PowerSchool and Illuminate.

FastBridge (Formative Assessment System for Teachers)

FastBridge is a screening assessment for early reading and math skills, which is given primarily to our elementary students to monitor progress toward reading success and mastery of numeracy skills. 

Results are available immediately to teachers in Fastbridge and Illuminate; Data are shared with students and families via the PowerSchool portal and in conferences after the testing window.

Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment (MCA) and Minnesota Test of Academic Skills (MTAS)

The MCAs are mandated by the state of Minnesota. They help schools and districts measure student progress toward the state’s academic standards. The math and reading tests are given to students in grades 3-5 and science is given to students in grades 3 and 5.

Preliminary scores available to schools in late May; Final Individual Student Reports are provided to schools to give to families in fall of the following year.

A variation of this state test, called MTAS or Minnesota Test of Academic Skills, is individually administered for students with the most significant cognitive disabilities.

NWEA Measures of Academic Progress

The Northwest Evaluation Association (NWEA) tests determine your child's instructional level and measure academic growth from year to year in mathematics, reading and science. They are adaptive tests (presenting more challenging questions as a child answers correctly) that pinpoint each student's instructional level. The test is given to students in grades 4 and 5 in the fall and spring.

Assessment results are available immediately to teachers in NWEA. Data are shared with students and families at conferences and/or through the mail within a month of testing.



  • Grade 1
  • Grade 2
  • Grade 3
  • Grade 4
  • Grade 5
  • Kindergarten