Skip To Main Content
  • District
  • Afton-Lakeland Elementary
  • Andersen Elementary
  • Brookview Elementary
  • Community Education
  • Lake Elmo Elementary
  • Lily Lake Elementary
  • Rutherford Elementary
  • Staff Portal
  • Stonebridge Elementary
  • Oak-Land Middle
  • Stillwater Middle
  • Stillwater Area High School
  • St. Croix Valley ALC
  • Go Ponies

Theatre students shine at state

Theatre students shine at state

The Stillwater Area High School musical “Newsies” earned top honors at state. The cast, crew and orchestra were invited to perform in the Hennepin Theatre Trust's spring Spotlight Awards. The awards are known as the Tony’s of Minnesota high school musical theater. More than 1600 students from 100 high schools participate in the program each year. The schools don’t compete against each other, instead theater professionals evaluate the musicals on their own merits.

SAHS theatre earned 10 top awards, including Achievement in Musical Theatre, Outstanding Overall Performance, Outstanding Overall Technical Team, and Outstanding Acting Performance. 3 students earned Outstanding Performance honors: James Bresette for leading role, and Mason Borchardt and William McDonough in supporting roles. 3 students earned Outstanding tech honors: Gavin Boren, Isabella Kahl, and Tyler Quade. In all, Stillwater received 21 Spotlight Education awards. 

2023 Spotlight Showcase

Achievement in Musical Theatre - Honorable Mention 

Overall Performance - Outstanding 

Overall Technical Team - Outstanding 

Acting Performance  - Outstanding 

Overall Production - Honorable Mention 

Run Crew - Honorable Mention 

Student Orchestra - Honorable Mention 

Dance Performance - Honorable Mention 

Vocal Performance - Honorable Mention 

Ensemble Performance - Honorable Mention 


Individual Awards

Outstanding Performance in a Leading Role 

James Bresette as Jack Kelly 

Outstanding Performance in a Supporting Role 

Mason Borchardt as Crutchie 

William McDonough as Joseph Pulitzer 

Outstanding in Technical Leadership 

Gavin Boren 

Tyler Quade 

Isabella Kahl 

Honorable Mention in a Leading Role 

Courtney Rodd as Katherine Plumber 

Honorable Mention in Technical Leadership 

Marit Hickey 

Honorable Mention in a Supporting Role 

Erica Bartkey as Medda Larkin 

Shayla Glaser as Race 

Clara Melin as Les 

Evaluator Shout-Out 

Adam Long 

Ruby Suro 

Michael Fredericks 

stillwater pony head

In Other News